USS Indianapolis name resurrected | Maritime Security Review

INDIANAPOLIS – What was dubbed as the final reunion for survivors of the USS Indianapolis was highlighted by a surprise announcement that one of the most famous ship names in history of the Navy will be resurrected in tribute to the men who endured the greatest tragedy in U.S. naval history.

The commander of Navy Region Midwest Rear Admi. Rick Williamson spoke on behalf of Secretary of the Navy Ray Mabus at the formal dinner reception held in a flag-draped banquet hall at the downtown Hyatt.

“To honor the history of your crew,” Williamson said. “I am pleased to tell you I have notified Congress that pending authorization and appropriation, I intend to name the next littoral combat ship USS Indianapolis.”

[object HTMLTextAreaElement]

via USS Indianapolis name resurrected | Maritime Security Review.

One comment

  1. James ODriscoll · ·

    I was happy until I heard it was going to be an LCS

    Sent from my iPhone

